Types of Certification

FSC wood is tracked from the forest to the store

Please click on the links below to find out more about the different types of certification offered by FSC.

Please click here to find out how to become certified.

FSC issues two main types of certificate:

Forest Management Certification


Forest Management certification is awarded to forest managers or owners whose management practices meet the requirements of the FSC Principles and Criteria.

Chain of Custody Certification

(© Elie Hakizumwami)© Elie Hakizumwami

Chain of Custody certification applies to manufacturers, processors and traders of FSC certified forest products. It verifies FSC certified material and products along the production chain.

FSC also issues the following certificates:

Project Certification

(© Olympic Delivery Authority)© Olympic Delivery Authority

Project Certification can be awarded to individual objects or buildings of any size or scale that are built or renovated on a one-off basis.

Controlled Wood

(© Brent Stirton Getty Images WWF)© Brent Stirton Getty Images WWF

Controlled Wood certification is designed to allow organizations to avoid the categories of wood considered unacceptable.

Multi-site CoC

(© Smurfit Kappa)© Smurfit Kappa

Multiple Site Chain of Custody Certification can be awarded to larger companies operating at multiple locations.

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000231