Events News

Tuesday, 27 November 2018
Excellence in Forestry Awards 2019

RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards (© RFS)© RFS

FSC UK is once again delighted to support the Royal Forestry Society (RFS) Excellence in Forestry Awards.

The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards celebrate responsible woodland management and 2019 will be the fourth consecutive year that FSC UK has been actively involved.

The Awards rotate around five regions of the UK, and the 2019 Awards will cover woodland owners in the South East of England (Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Greater London, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, the Isle of Wight, Kent, Middlesex, Oxfordshire, Sussex, Surrey, and Wiltshire).

Awards will be presented in five categories:

• Community Woodland Award
• Duke of Cornwall’s Award for Resilient Multi-Purpose Forestry
• Education and Learning Award
• Excellence in Silviculture Award
• Small and Farm Woodland Award

In 2019, FSC UK is sponsoring the Small and Farm Woodland Award, which recognises and rewards smaller woods that have been actively managed in the last 10 years. FSC UK’s Forest Standards Manager, Dr Owen Davies, will again be one of the judges:

“It’s my very great privilege to be judging the Duke of Cornwall’s, Silviculture and Small Woodland awards for the fourth year running,” says Owen. “I know I shouldn’t have a favourite, but I must admit that the Small and Farm Woodland Award is my favourite category, if only for the fantastic variety of woods and objectives, and the wonderfully enthusiastic owners. It’s a great pleasure to be able to celebrate success with them!”

The closing date for entries is Tuesday 5 March 2019 and the Awards will be presented on Friday 12 July at the York Club, Windsor Great Park, Berkshire.

Find out more about the Awards and how to enter by visiting the RFS website

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000231