Events News

Thursday, 23 January 2020
Excellence in Forestry Awards Look West

aerial view of forest

Celebrating the very best woodland management has never been more important. This year, the Royal Forestry Society Excellence in Forestry Awards turn the spotlight on the Isle of Man, Northern Ireland and Wales.

With widespread recognition of the climate emergency and the role that trees can play in mitigating climate change, trees and woods have rarely been higher on the political agenda. Headlines are filled with eye-catching targets for new tree planting, but in the rush to increase woodland area in the UK it’s important not to forget that responsible management of our existing woods is vital to ensure they deliver the widest possible range of economic, environmental and social benefits.

Of course, FSC exists to promote responsible forest management which is environmentally appropriate, socially beneficial and economically viable, and we are always keen to celebrate the successes of our certificate holders. But we have also been pleased over the last few years to support the Royal Forestry Society (RFS) in recognising the achievements of a wide range of woodland owners through the Excellence in Forestry Awards. For the last four years, FSC UK Forest Standards Manager Dr Owen Davies has acted as a judge for three of the award categories.

“Judging the Excellence in Forestry Awards was a huge privilege, and has left many happy memories of remarkable woods and even more remarkable people,” says Owen. “After four years I felt it was time to step aside, especially with the awards coming closer to home in Wales, but I am delighted that FSC UK continues to support the awards through its sponsorship of the Small and Farm Woodland Award.”

The awards are held annually in a different region, and this year cover the Isle of Man, Northern Ireland and Wales. There are five award categories:

  • Award for Excellence in Silviculture
  • Duke of Cornwall’s Award for Resilient Multi-purpose Forestry
  • Small and Farm Woodland Award
  • Community Woodland Award
  • Education and Learning Award

“I would encourage all woodland owners in this year’s award area to consider entering, and to take the opportunity to tell their story,” says Owen. “I’m particularly excited to see what extraordinary stories the Small and Farm Woodland Award reveals this time round!”

To learn more about the Excellence in Forestry Awards and to download category guidelines and entry forms, visit the RFS website and check out the flyers below. The closing date for entries is 3 March 2020.

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000231