News and topics around our activities

Tuesday, 13 February 2018
Find your closest FSC certified forests in the UK

Map South

Our online forest map shows all the forests covered by FSC forest management certification in the UK.

At the end of 2017, the map received some long overdue care and attention and has now been updated in line with the latest information.

In total 2,927 forests were plotted for the 34 forest management certificates held in the UK.

The majority of forests belong to group or multi-site certificates which oversee the management of multiple forests in diverse locations.

These include:

  • Forestry Commission
  • Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB)
  • The Woodland Trust
  • Natural Resources Wales
  • Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (Northern Ireland Forest Service)
  • National Trust

The following Wildlife Trusts are also FSC certified for their forests:

  • Kent Wildlife Trust
  • Sheffield and Rotherham Wildlife Trust
  • Worcestershire Wildlife Trust

Some councils are also FSC certified for their forests, including:

  • Durham County Council
  • Three Rivers district Council
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council
  • Sheffield City Council

The map has been created using Google Maps.

Location data used to plot forests was collected from public summary audit reports and through direct contact with forest owners and managers.

The speed with which the update has been completed is testament to our forest management certificate holder’s kind cooperation.

The map can be found on our website at

Each forest marker displays the forest name, certificate holder name, FSC licence number and a link to the relevant website.

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000231